Now That’s a Big Bowl!

20120219-071553.jpg

Vintage buttons have always been a treasured part of my life… I share a love of them with my Mom. My Mom has a vintage button collection from my Great Great Grandmother from Norway in the most unique primitive wooden chest. My Mom showed us her craftiness when we were growing up and created the coolest button curtain that was hanging at the entrance to our living room. I wish I had a photo of it, but I did find a photo that is kind of similar by googling.

20120219-074615.jpg
(Thank you to Www.purpleglitter.livejournal.com) My Mom’s button curtain was a bit beefier… I think she used larger buttons and she had them placed side by side to fill the doorway. It took her hours and hours to make. I loved that curtain… The feeling of parting the heavy strands of cool buttons. I am sure we were pretty hard on it, especially me. (Sorry Mom!) I was a pretty careless and energetic child!)

The necklace above I created with a vintage metal button… Wire and crystals swirling below it. 🙂

It is a beautiful Saturday morning as I sit on the sofa, enjoying my coffee and creating this blogpost. Sawyer, my early riser is watching movies on his phone when he decides it is time for breakfast. I hear him in the kitchen as he says, “I need a really big bowl, I am very hungry.” He is 12 and capable of getting his own breakfast, so I leave him on his own. He walks across the room with biggest grin on his face and a serving bowl filled with Cheerios and milk!

20120219-075736.jpg

He shares my love of coffee so he has a cup of coffee in his M & M cup!

I had to talk him into a photo… He cracks me up!

20120219-075950.jpg
And yes! Shocking news, he finished it!

I have a couple a couple of brief hockey playoff updates: yesterday Keegan’s team won in sudden victory overtime to continue to move on in the district playoffs with a final score of 3-2… Kya’s team also won in overtime 3-2 to move into the District Championship game. If they win, they move on to Regional Playoffs. They boys have a longer journey ahead of them due to their loss on Friday night. And the hockey continues with two more games today!

Enjoy your day to the fullest! Hope it is a great one! 🙂 Kris

2 Comments

Filed under Cherish Designs Jewelry, Family, Jewelry By Kris Lanae

2 responses to “Now That’s a Big Bowl!

  1. Heartwarming post, Kris. Love the stories about your mom’s curtain AND Keegan’s cereal bowl!

  2. I was luvin your new design before you blew me away with your story and that cool pic of the button curtain! How wonderful! Had to laugh when I saw the size of your son’s bowl! That’s what I call a growing boy! What a sweetie he was to pose for you…..

Leave a Reply

