Angel Wings

My sister is out of town for a few weeks and I always help her out at her flower and coffee shop when she is gone. Generally (and unfortunately) we are guaranteed a funeral or two while she is gone.

Yesterday I got up early to go create a very special set of arrangements. This family requested angel wings in two of their arrangements… I hope it is ok that I show you the finished arrangements, the wings look better in real life and I thought it was such a beautiful touch for this family.

The first arrangement hangs on an easel… Here is my before photo of the base greened and ready for flowers.

20120109-111740.jpg

Here is the completed arrangement.

20120109-111906.jpg

This arrangement includes some of my favorite flowers, hydrangea, lizzy anthus, ranunculus, ginesta, thistle, daisy mums and variegated pitt.

The angel wings don’t photograph well, but here is a side view.

20120109-121616.jpg

The next arrangement is quite a bit larger and includes tulips, roses, babies breath and alstrameria, no hydrangea though. The wings look better in real life, you can see the crystals that look like sparkling dew glistening.

20120109-121442.jpg

There is something about creating flowers that will help comfort a family in their saddest moments ever. Bittersweet, yet touching. I am thankful to be a part of the moment and offer my deepest sympathies to a family who has a painful journey ahead of them.

Thanks for allowing me to share… There is beauty in celebrating our loved ones… Better yet, celebrate each moment you have with them and make it your best day ever! 🙂 Kris

20120109-122622.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “Angel Wings

  1. Kris, the pictures didn’t come through, but I’d love to see them. I knew your sister owned a flower shop, but I didn’t realize you were a designer, too! Yet another thing we have in common.

  2. Regina Evard

    Beautiful!, You are such a warm person. My only contact with you was at the “Creative Connection” a year and half ago for a couple hours. In that little time I felt such warmth and compassion from you which continues to come out in your posting. God Bless, Regina

  3. Hey Cherishdesigns,
    I take your point, I want to dress as a sort of dark/fallen angel for halloween without having to go out and buy a costume. I have white angel wings so does anyone have any ideas to make them look more gothic somehow?
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

