Joy, Peace & Love

20111231-065101.jpg

It is hard to believe that New Year’s Eve is upon us. I love that the dawn of each new year allows us the opportunity to recreate ourselves!

Our focus at home the past few days has been preparing for my husbands family Christmas, it is our year to host.

It was time to pack up my jewelry display, which is hard because I often have someone stop and shop. I think I came up with the best of both worlds… I created a display in my built in cabinets that we designed by our entry. It did not fit my full display, but a decent selection.

20111231-070015.jpg

Five years ago, I struggled to find a kitchen cabinet color that I loved. I knew I wanted a distressed look, I initially decided on red, like a barn red color, but started to worry that I would tire of the color. I finally settled on black. It is my favorite color.

Our friend Steve who built our cabinets had never distressed cabinets before, in fact I think the thought I was a bit crazy! So I agreed to go in and distress them myself at his shop. 13 hours of sanding with a rotary sander until my hand was about to fall off, and I was thrilled with the results!

I don’t have a great photo to share, but here is one I took at my open house.

20111231-070927.jpg

I am still happy with my choice!

We finally had a bit of snow, my kids were so excited to wake up to a light dusting!

20111231-071135.jpg

I hope that 2012 brings you joy, peace and love and that all of your dreams come true! 🙂 Kris

4 Comments

Filed under Cherish Designs Jewelry, Family, Holiday

4 responses to “Joy, Peace & Love

  1. I love how you have necklaces hanging on bottles. What a clever idea! Wishing you all the best in 2012.

  2. I repainted a beautiful cabinet that I had purchased about 20 years ago. I decided to paint it a black and have not regretted. Everyone loves it! I really love how you decided to display your jewelry.

  3. Happy New Year, Kris!! Have fun celebrating! Looking forward to seeing you next week! (BTW, cabinets looks awesome!)

  4. carolyn

    Love your jewelry display. Such a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

