One Brick At A Time

20111229-040529.jpg

I was scrolling through my photos of Christmas Eve when I paused on a couple of photos of my kids and nephew climbing on my Mom and Dad’s fireplace.

20111229-040934.jpg

It is quite a dynamic fireplace and takes up an entire wall floor to ceiling in their home, my childhood home that I grew up in since 8th grade.

This fireplace took years of work for our family to create. It started off with my Dad getting 13 dump truck loads of a brick building that had been demolished … All he had to do was haul it away. In three summers, my two sisters and I learned work ethic, how to overcome conflict and determination… Every summer day we had to scrape and chisel the old mortar off each brick, one by one until we had two double stacked pallet loads every day… Did I say for three long summers? This was done before we could do anything extracurricular.

20111229-041933.jpg

I look at that fireplace now with a sense of accomplishment and pride.

I learned a lot from those old bricks… And my parents. My parents have collected antiques since I can remember, they have always had a love of cherishing cool old objects. I have my parents to thank for my love of vintage jewelry and my joy in repurposing unique and gorgeous items into my jewelry.

Thanks Mom and Dad. I now realize that so many of my childhood experiences have had a strong influence in who I am today. πŸ™‚

I am so grateful for amazing parents and a childhood filled with rich experiences, even if it was scraping one brick at a time.

Have a great day. πŸ™‚ Kris

4 Comments

Filed under Cherish Designs Jewelry, Family

4 responses to “One Brick At A Time

  1. What a beautiful story! Thanks for sharing an insight into your heart — and what a beautiful heart it is.

  2. What a wonderful memory! Thanks for sharing it with us!

  3. I love this story, thanks for sharing…..

  4. What a moving story…I can see why you came to be “Cherish Designs”!

Leave a Reply

