The Old & The New Unite

It is an interesting blend… The old with the new. It’s a combination that brings me great joy in my design… Vintage elements revised and repurposed with a new trendy life.

So on this Sunday afternoon, I attend Sawyer’s Boy’s Choir concert.. We received very few details about the concert, one of about 40 concerts this year. It is called Sanctuary, his call time was 1:30 and the concert at 3:00pm.

It is held in The Great Hall at St. Johns University. As I wait for the concert to start, I enjoy browsing the program.

20111113-150338.jpg

Sanctuary, A Celebration in Word, Image, and Song.

The old and the new struck me in this photo… A beautiful old setting… New technology… An interesting combination .

20111113-151828.jpg

The Great Hall is amazing!

20111113-152101.jpg

The incredible ceilings…

20111113-152225.jpg

And the boys choir singing their first song…

20111113-152709.jpg

It was a beautiful concert that celebrated the completion of the St. John’s Bible, mixing three choirs.

It did get a tad long and I so wish I could capture a photo of the front row of the 12-14 year old boys… Heavy heads resting on both hand, elbows to their knees, it almost made me laugh out loud, they are so adorable!

I promised to share some photos from the Muffin Tin Challenge…

20111113-153328.jpg

I wish you could physically see this bracelet, the photo doesn’t do it justice.
It is one of my all time favorites.

20111113-154026.jpg

20111113-154415.jpg

20111113-154747.jpg

I Hope you have a day filled with sunshine!
Kris πŸ™‚

Ps… I forgot to show you the stunning sunset as we were driving home!

20111114-055028.jpg

20111114-055204.jpg

8 Comments

Filed under Art Every Day Month, Cherish Designs Jewelry

8 responses to “The Old & The New Unite

  1. Thanks for sharing. It’s always wonderful when the old and new combine. And as always your jewelry is beautiful. You are so creative! It must be very satisfying to find new purpose for the vintage pieces.

  2. Wonderful post ~ awesome photos and very creative jewelry thanks, namaste, carol (A Creative Harbor)

    Might you consider my Magical Monday blog hop at A Creative Harbor? thanks, carol ^_^

  3. Beautiful photos at St. John’s! I bet the singing was fabulous!

    I like the bracelet. Is it for sale?

  4. Thanks for sharing Sawyer’s program, the new pieces and your wonderful sunsets. I think that one of the things we creative types do is to take in the world in a little different way than “normal” people, seeing the beauty and the way things relate in everything. Thanks for sharing your observations!

  5. Your jewelery is beautiful. I love the feel of the vintage pieces mixed into a more contemporary styling.

  6. Diane, Thank you so much! Your compliments make my heart happy! πŸ™‚ Kris

  7. Thanks Janet, you are always such a great supporter. Thanks for always visiting! Kris

  8. Thanks so much Carol! I will happily take a look at it! I appreciate it! πŸ™‚ Kris

Leave a Reply

