That’s a lot of Therapy

Yesterday’s post was a bit heavy, sorry. As I write, I rarely have a topic in mind, I just start writing.

20111110-213956.jpg

As you can see, all of the jewelry pictured was made either at the doctors offices or on the two hour ride home.

20111110-214151.jpg

Now you might think, that’s alot of jewelry.

20111110-214342.jpg

Clearly, I needed A LOT of Creative Therapy!

20111110-220436.jpg

When I have feelings of that are hard to deal with and out of my control, it helps so much to do something constructive.

20111111-052709.jpg

20111111-053203.jpg

I was creating with intention as well because a store just placed an order for a number of my wire flower necklaces.

20111111-053446.jpg

20111111-053604.jpg

Our son Sawyer came home from Art Club after school yesterday with the most awesome grin in his face and his work of art in his hands.

20111111-053953.jpg

It’s a candle holder! I love it. He made it out of clay.

20111111-054105.jpg
The detail amazes me for a 12 year old. We forgot to take a photo with the roof on, because we had the candle lit, but his roof was perfectly made with detailed shingles.

Thank you all for your thoughts, prayers and comments for my son. I am sorry I did not share what MHE is, it is called Multiple Hereditary Exostosis… Which basically means multiple bone tumors that are hereditary. We did not realize it, but when we discovered his first one, we went through detailed testing and found that I have it, I have never noticed, but I have them in my toes.

They are non malignant and grow as he grows. It is a genetic defect that when the bone grows, it will grow a tumor at his growth plate. This causes some of his bones to grow at different rates and sometimes they bow. He has pain daily, especially in the morning, but he has a very high pain tolerance.

The big deal with the surgery is that
1. Needles are overwhelming to him because if all of the poking and prodding over 11 years. I mean really overwhelming.
2. Two surgeries ago he was supposed to be in the hospital overnight and had an infection that caused his hand to swell like I have never seen. They could not control his pain for a couple of days, it would spike out of control and he remembers it clearly. He was hospitalized for a week, and out of school for almost 6 weeks with a cast & no physical activity for 3 months. It makes it hard as a parent to reassure him that everything will be fine. πŸ™‚
3. He got a snowmobile for his birthday in June and he has been waiting patiently to ride it and he knows that a surgery will interfere with the number of days on his sled.
4. And then there’s hockey… he lives for hockey.

Okay, here I am being heavy again… I only intended on sharing what MHE is. Sorry.

I must say that each day our spirits are rising and we will face this with a great attitude and lots and lots of creative therapy!

Have a terrific day! πŸ™‚ Kris

9 Comments

Filed under Art Every Day Month, Cherish Designs Jewelry

9 responses to “That’s a lot of Therapy

  1. I really love your pieces!!! Each one is very unique! πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Ida

    http://asplashofida.blogspot.com

  2. I love you, friend. Your therapy is beautiful, as always. I never get tired of seeing the special pieces you choose and how you put them together! I see Sawyer inherited your creativity as well! Great candle holder!

  3. Yes, that is a lot of jewelry but you have a beautiful way of working out your stuff, girl. Real nice work.

  4. cbear70

    Thank you so much for letting us know about MHE.I will continue to hold your son and your family in my thoughts and prayers. I think you have awesome creative therapy!! I love your work.

  5. praying for all of you Kris. I was in the hospital a lot as a kid, and although I didnt have that many surgeries by his age, (i think i had 5), I remember being there and how it felt. I imagine thats why I became a nurse. I know how scary the hospital can be. So please know that I know what your boy is going through, and my heart goes out to him. You are such a tough cookie, with a tender heart. What a great mom you are πŸ™‚

  6. Your jewellery creations are magnificent and it looks like creative talent runs in the family….Sawyer’s candle holder is awesome! It reminds me of a castle turret.

    I pray that all goes well with the surgery….it’s fully understandable for him to be apprehensive with all that he has already gone though. Sending positive vibes your ways. πŸ™‚

  7. oh your poor little guy, praying that all goes well with his surgery; his candle holder is fantastic, I want one!

  8. Wonderful that you and your son have these creative outlets. It is amazing how resilient kids are – he is one amazing young boy!

  9. Thanks Ida! Thanks so much for your comments, they mean a lot to me!

Leave a Reply

