Rookie Photo Fun

It’s my Chicadoodle’s 11th Birthday today… She brings so much joy into my life.. As each of my children do.

11 years ago today we went in for a scheduled C-section, 4 weeks before her due date. What a joyous day! It is amazing to realize how quickly eleven years have passed. My chickie is a girly girl who loves sports. Happy 11th Birthday Kya! I hope you have an amazing day even though our day will be filled to the brim with activities.

Thank you for all of your comments on my blog, it is so much fun to receive your comments… You make my heart sing!

I created quite a bit of art this weekend, so I am going to show you a smattering… Along with showing you how I take my photos…

20111106-124059.jpg

I am by no means a photographer… I don’t even profess to know what I am doing! Lol… I have read many photography tips and know that I could get even better results with a high quality camera. My limitations are that I use my iPhone for every photo. I choose to out of convenience and time constraints in my life. It allows me to quickly snap photos and upload instantly if I choose.

Quite a few of my friends in my fly girl group have asked about my photography… So here you are my friends…

My props:

20111106-125223.jpg
I work right outside my front door in indirect light on my front stoop. My screen is one of my most common backgrounds, but often I will use scrapbook paper or old dictionary papers. I also use this dress form or other props I have lying around.

20111106-125840.jpg

In this photo I have laid the screen flat on my urn because I am using paper as my background.

If I use the screen as a background, I keep it upright in my urn and drape my necklaces over the corner.

20111106-130238.jpg

I took three photos of this necklace and choose my favorite of the three to share with you. When I first started taking photos, It was not uncommon for me to take 30-50 pictures and only get one or two shots, so be patient with yourself! Experiment with light & time of the day.

The next prop I used is my dress form. If I zoom in close enough, I don’t have to worry about the background, otherwise I will prop my screen up behind it or put it in front of my siding on my house as you can see in the next photo.

20111106-131243.jpg

20111106-132828.jpg

Another thing I keep in mind is angle and how the item fills my screen. That is a huge advantage of the iPhone, I know immediately that I got a good shot because I can see it on my screen.

20111106-140259.jpg

NOPE.

20111106-141201.jpg

Not so much…

20111106-141500.jpg

Ahhhhhh… Just about right… I would tweak it a little, but this is my fav.

And now for the App I use… It’s called FX Photo Studio… I believe it was $2.99 when I bought it.

It looks like this…

It is simple to use and has 190 one touch effects that can be layered on top of each other. My favorite effect is Color Charcoal Sketch I used above. I double layered this photo by adding Ancient Canvas.

20111106-143150.jpg
Love! Here is a glance at how the effect selection appears in the app.

20111106-143330.jpg

I hope that gives you a little rookie insight to my photos. I love the app & highly recommend it (and I am not in any way getting paid to say so).

20111106-144924.jpg

17 Comments

Filed under Art Every Day Month, Cherish Designs Jewelry, Uncategorized

17 responses to “Rookie Photo Fun

  1. Awesome, Kris! Thanks for the lesson.

  2. Happy Birthday to Kya!

    Great tips on the photo editing! Thanks for sharing, Kris!

  3. Linda

    Very cool Kris! I don’t have the iphone (yet), but I’m going to check if that app works with the iPad.

  4. I bought the app, and love it, although I haven’t used it for my blog yet. Charcoal sketch is my favorite effect, too, but so far I haven’t found anything I can use it for! Soon, I hope! Thanks for sharing your process, Kris!

  5. Thanks for more shots of your beautiful jewelry AND tips on how you take them. I can’t believe the pics you are getting with your iphone – simply amazing.

  6. I really enjoyed reading your post and admiring your jewellery, happy birthday to your little Chicadoodle..
    Gwen xx

  7. Thanks for your comment 🙂 Getting ready for a show is exhausting! I’m hoping each show will be a little easier.

    What a great entry! This past weekend I was having lighting issues.. everywhere I went was too bright or dark. I’m going to try early evening next time and see if that helps. (Also, I loved how you have specific props for your pictures…That is so much easier than what I do.. half my time is spent trying to find things to lay my jewelry out on :p )

  8. Carol Samsel

    Beautiful shots and some very nice jewelry too 🙂

  9. Thanks for sharing how you do your photos! I learned a lot!

  10. Hi! I love this post! Thank you so much for sharing about the app..I would LOVE to use my iphone…I have been using my good camera..but come to think of it my iphone does take some pretty good pictures!

  11. I went straight to the App store and downloaded this!! It was 50% off today, I got it for 9 cents! Thanks for the info…
    xo
    lynn

  12. I know this post was about the photos, but I wanted to say that I really like the wire elements you use in your pendants. Really cool and kind of sketch-like.

  13. awesome photos… Love the different designs and textures…wow.

  14. Happy b-day to the big girl! That’s fantastic. 😀

  15. I can’t believe you you took these with just an iPhone!! I just bought a canon rebel hoping to improve on my photos , but what I really appreciated about this post was that the way your lovely pieces compliment their environment! Thanks Kris…. Hey I have a question is this AEDM part of our group thing? I think I missed it…….

  16. Thank you all for the awesome comments! I am so thankful that my post can help you out in any way! I wasn’t trying to sell the app, but I cannot tell you what a difference it has made to be able to soften up some of my photos and jazz up some photos that might otherwise be a tad boring! I forgot to mention that the app also has cropping, rotating, and other editing capabilites. I love that it was on sale for 99 cents for you! Linda, I sure would think that it would work on an ipad, let me know! I have an iphone 4 (not a 4s yet!!) IA smartphone is so much easier because you don;t have to take the photos off, load them to your computer and then find the time to sit down and upload them!

    adinaandgem, I have bought quite a bit of scrapbooking paper and usually I find that I like only a couple of pieces… the ones that have a subtle background and convey the colors of my blog… glad I could give you some ideas!

    Thanks for the birthday wishes for my Chickee and each of your for your comments! Carmen, this is not a group challenge, it is an independant challenge by Leah Piken Kolidas, you can find out more here: http://creativeeveryday.com/art-every-day-month. It has been so much fun to participate, you can join any time. Make sure if you join, that you enter your blog post address daily on the correct link. 🙂 Thanks everyone! You guys are awesome! 🙂 Kris

Leave a Reply

