Haste Makes Waste

Growing up, my Grandparents owned a hardware store and as children we were fascinated with spending time there. I must say, we learned many lessons about life from my Grandfather, even though at the time we had no idea!

This is going to date me, but one of the highlights was going to the five and dime! And things actually were five and ten cents!

I often remember my grandfather saying, “Haste Makes Waste” (I am not sure if he just said it often to me because I ran everywhere I went, or if it was a common quote he used…) But last night, that message resonated with me. I agree whole heartedly.

Let me tell you what happened… I was bidding on eBay on some vintage jewelry and I really wanted this small lot of earrings. I generally wait until there are only a few minutes left when I place my bid. The item was under $12, and I bid up to $15.50. Apparently I was not the only one who really wanted the vintage earrings because with 23 seconds left I was outbid. I hastily typed in $19.23 and confirmed my bid, thinking I am going to lose the earrings. 23 seconds passes quickly while you are trying to place a bid! Check out my photo!!!

20111009-072607.jpg

OH MY FLIPPING GOODNESS, did you see what I typed??? Check out my Maximum Bid!!! I cannot tell you how thankful I am that eBay uses the current system of stepping up the bids rather than using the actual bid! Can you believe I forgot the decimal point??? And boy am I thankful that the person did not really want the earrings that badly! Did you notice that I would not have won them with the bid I intended on typing! Lol

This is a fantastic lesson for me, because it is true, haste does make waste… Thanks Grandpa!

Yesterday we enjoyed watching my daughter’s volleyball tournament.

20111009-073340.jpg
Bought a new hockey helmet for my son. Here he is adjusting it… He loves when I take pics of him (or not) πŸ™‚

20111009-073627.jpg

Made steak, fettuccine alfredo and a salad. (Remembered another lesson originally taught by my Mom…you get what you pay for!) did you know that $2 steaks taste like $2 steaks… Even if they are filet! πŸ™‚ Hee hee!

And I enjoyed creating…

20111009-074133.jpg
And…

20111009-074243.jpg

Feeling thankful today that I did not spend $2000 on some earrings! Whew! I hope your day is filled with lessons that are not as painful as they could be!!! Have a wonderful day! Kris

12 Comments

Filed under Cherish Designs Jewelry

12 responses to “Haste Makes Waste

  1. OMG! I would have DIED if I did that! You truly did get lucky!! I miss those volleyball days;( My younger daughter played club volleyball and was a bowlero (spelling?). Those were fun days. Kris, every time I see your jewelry I’m in awe! It’s just so unique and beautiful. I’m going to have to setup a special savings account just to buy your goodies;D Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh my goodness! Slow down girl — you’re Grandpa knew what he was talking about. Great post. Thank you for sharing.

  3. “your Grandpa” — not enough coffee in me yet — or maybe I’m being to hasty! πŸ™‚

  4. Linda, it was quite the shocker, I realized it after I hit confirm bid! Whew! So lucky! The volleyball has been so much fun! They are so cute at 10!

    Thank you so much for your kind compliments! You are too kind! I hope you are feeling better!

    Wish we had another TCC coming up so we can get together! πŸ™‚ have an awesome day! Kris πŸ™‚

  5. πŸ™‚ you crack me up C. M.!!! Hee hee! πŸ™‚ I will slow down! Have an amazing day! πŸ™‚ Kris

  6. You really did want those earrings! I remember once, I bid on a collection of floral postcards. I put in a high bid. And in the last few seconds, it shot up another $30. That was a surprise. And yes, I did win them! Gotta love eBay! So many vintage treasures!

  7. What a difference a decimal point makes! Hahahahahaha! Glad it was a cheap lesson instead of an expensive one!

  8. Hilary,
    There is something with the adrenalin that gets you going when you are bidding on ebay, isn’t there! I really got excited when I first started bidding! Whew! Too fun! πŸ™‚ Have an awesome day! Kris

  9. I know… I am soooooooo thankful! Big teachable moment for my kids too! Hee! πŸ™‚ Have a great day Janet!

  10. Rhonda

    I actually did the same thing on ebay once, and sweated all night long…I too got lucky! Yes, not good to get so caught up in the adrenaline rush!
    But glad you won!!!:) Rhonda

  11. Rhonda, I cannot imagine sweating all night about it! Ugh! That must have been horrible! πŸ™‚ thanks for your comment & making me feel better! πŸ™‚

  12. These are such beautiful creations! Happy Flying!! :))

Leave a Reply

