Fa La La La La… La La… La… La!

The holidays would just not be the same without holiday music!

One of my favorite traditions growing up was singing the 12 days of Christmas with my family.

It was H I L A R I O U S!!

and I am not being mean!

I think it is one of my funniest memories with my whole family growing up.

As kids, we would write down on 12 slips of paper, one verse of the song…

5 golden rings

       four calling birds

              three french hens

                       two turtle doves

                                    and a partridge in a pear tree!

We would walk around the room and everyone would draw their verse. I don’t recall ever having fewer than 12, but I do know that sometimes two people would sing together.

Everyone would sing, “On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me”

The person who got “partidge in a pear tree” would start us off.

We would roll with laughter…

some would sing off key,

some would forget that it was their turn…

all in all it was such a fun song to share! I just happened to realize that there will be 12 of us for Christmas this year… wondering if we shouldn’t bring back old traditions!

Another terrific tradition we started years ago at Thanksgiving, but could be done at Christmas was to purchase a White Table Cloth… Every year we bring out markers and write the year and what we are thankful for. The kids would sign it or draw a small picture. We have our Grandparents signatures before they passed and some terrific memories of years past on that tablecloth… It is never to late to start a new tradition!

Thinking about Traditions… Next year we will have to adjust our traditional Christmas Eve get together with our family to accomodate for the St. John’s Boy’s Choir Christmas Eve Midnight Mass for Sawyer. Call time this year for the Concert Choir is very early in the evening, 6:30 pm… So we are relishing the Christmas Eve Celebration this year.

I hope that you continue your holiday traditions and start some new ways to celebrate this year! Happy Holidays! Kris

1 Comment

Filed under Cherish Designs Jewelry, Family, Holiday

One response to “Fa La La La La… La La… La… La!

  1. and a partrihidddddddgggggeeeeee in a pear treeeeeeeeeeeeee.

    why didn’t we sing? and where is my santa gift??????

Leave a Reply

