Is It Friday Yet?

Is It Friday Yet? had a whole new meaning for me this week. The excitement has been building since September.

Guess What? Today IS FRIDAY!!!

I can’t believe I get to tell you about my exciting honor.

I cannot express how truly honored I am.

How grateful I am for this experience. Well, here goes….

As you know, in September I had a booth at The Creative Connection’s  – The Handmade Market.

It was a pretty big risk for me, the longest and largest show I have done with my jewelry and most expensive booth space. My dearest sister suggested it. (She has been an amazing supporter, source of inspiration and friend to me! Kar, I am so thankful for you and your support! I thank you from the bottom of my heart)

I had debated between having a booth at the Junk Bonanza and The Handmade Market, but on the advice of my sister and weighing the options, I decided to go with The Handmade Market. It was meant to be. The Handmade Market was an abundant display of amazing talent and I was a bit nervous to be among such amazing artisans…

As the show opened, I had so many amazing compliments  (and sales) on my jewelry… How different my jewelry is… How hard it was to choose just one necklace… Are you teaching here, quite a few people asked me. (blush – I would love to!) I had an amazing experience, you can read about it here, here and here.

A few weeks after the event, I received an email with the subject line of “Love Your Jewelry!”

Here are some excerpts:

Dear Kris,

I purchased two of your pieces at the creative connection event and I just have to say that I am in love with them!!! I have worn them so much already and have had tons of great comments.   I work for a company called (oops, can’t tell you) which is a holiday décor company.  We are owned by our parent company, (mum’s the word!).  Our design studio is located in (still a secret!).  I have been thinking about your jewelry and have been wondering if you might be interested in working with us to develop a look for Christmas.  I haven’t quite figured it all out yet.

 Would you be interested in doing some licensed work with us if I can develop a concept around your jewelry?  Right now I’m just in the germination stage of an idea,  and I don’t know what it might work into, but I wanted to first reach out to you and tell you how much I enjoy your work!  If you are interested, maybe over the next few weeks we can chat and you can share some photos with me of any other things you might have in the works.

At this point I can’t make any promises because I haven’t had enough time to put together a concept, but something tells me there might be something great here.!  I love to just go with those feelings and see where it leads.  If nothing else, please know that I love your jewelry so much and intend on buying more for Christmas presents.  My daughter and her friend have been eying mine!

It was a pleasure meeting you.  You are such a sweet person to talk to so hopefully we can do something creative together!

  

As you might expect I was giddy with excitement and honored and floored that they fell in love with my jewelry so much to develop a potential concept around it for a holiday line! Wahooooooo, can you just hear me screaming with excitement. Needless to say, I quickly provided about a hundred photos to her. (I know, I know!) Tom and I got to meet with her and her sweet, fun and down to earth staff. It has been a joy, just dreaming of possibilities! Me, a licensed artist???

So I have been walking around with my fingers and toes crossed (mighty hard, I tell ya!) wishing I could have a camera in their office so I could see how it was all developing.

I emailed two weeks ago to check in (Tom had been encouraging me to contact her for a week or more, so I finally caved!). I wished her a Happy Thanksgiving and was curious about how their process was going. She replied and told me that they came up with two concepts, and if I wanted I could submit some photos items that I came up with to fit those two concepts… (Can you believe those apples??? I was thrilled with one, but two gives me twice the opportunity!) It was so much fun to be challenged. One of the concepts was playing with materials that I had not thought of. Another one is very close to my heart. I spent hours creating over Thanksgiving week and Monday morning I sent a barrage of emails. She loved them, thinks it looks very promising. She asked me to make one of the items more dimensional (an idea I loved) and so I emailed yesterday with my final photos…

Now the wait is on… Today and tomorrow they are making “hard” decisions (in her words) and I sit here wondering… Will my boards be on the cutting room floor? But I must say, if nothing else comes of this experience…

I feel blessed for the compliment!

I am blessed for the hope that it brings for my future. It is brighter than I imagined… my joy is to create, one thing at a time…

I am blessed for the ability.

I am blessed by my husband who has an amazing capacity to help, support, believe and love.

I am blessed by sister, who inspired me to do more.

I am blessed by all of you, who wear my jewelry with love.

I am blessed by my friends who are so amazing!

I am especially blessed by my family, my children… a journey that I never regret taking with my best friend.

It touches me to the core to have “professionals in the gift industry” intrigued by my work.

And…

THAT TODAY IS FRIDAY!!!!

I will post a blog to let you know the scoop as soon as I know it!

Have an amazing day!

Kris

(UPDATE!!!) I am so totaly amazed and excited to tell you that the news was great yesterday! I made the cut with my jewelry home – decor line with the wholesale gift company! I am so amazed and excited! There are details to complete… contracts to sign and I am sure that until that happens, it is not technically official until that point! They are combining both of the concepts into one and I will know more next week! I am giddy with excitement for my future! Can you hear me screaming and cheering???

I am so excited for this creative journey. Thanks everyone for your support and encouragement! Have a terrific weekend! Yahooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo 🙂 Kris

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Is It Friday Yet?

  1. Gina

    congrats on the honor!! you are an amazing artist and deserve the honor to have this chance!

  2. Yeh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am screaming too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! woot woot!!!! so proud of you!!!!

  3. Congratulation Kris! I’m so happy for you… I had heard that this was in the works a while ago, so am happy to hear that it is panning out. How very exciting and an honor indeed. You go girl…
    Gretchen

  4. Oh YES! I’m screaming and dancing for you! I KNEW it! I just KNEW it was meant to be for you Kris! You are so talented and deserving! I am excited for all the possibilities that are before you! You have a gift and the world is blessed that you share it!
    LOVE YOU:)

  5. Margaret Swanson

    My congratulations, also. What a thrill and honor for you who is so deserving. You have such a creative mind and will do very well, I know. Lynn loved the piece I gave her for her birthday. She got lots of compliments on it at work (and she works near the fine jewelry counter at Macy’s.) (Turquoise cross on bead chain)

  6. Thank you Gina!! I am so thrilled! It still feels surreal! 🙂 Thanks! Kris

  7. Gosh, you guys are amazing!!! Thanks Margaret!!! You are too kind! Kar, your faith in me is so appreciated! Mary, thanks my friend! I am excited about your future too! Gretchen, thanks so much!! It is a dream come true!

    Hopefully in the next few weeks all of the details will come together! Yahoo!! Thank you, you are so kind! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Kris

Leave a Reply

